What I Know Today…what I like about my readers.

Comment on this entry, and I will:

Tell you why I am friends with you.
Associate you with something – fandom, a song, a color, a photo, a word etc.
Tell you something I like about you.
Tell you a memory I have of you.
Ask something I’ve always wanted to know about you.
In return, you must post this to your own journal/blog.

Thank you Rachel for this! What a cool idea! I commented on Rachel’s blog with this and learned a lot about her thoughts of me. Thank you for the sweet comment about my Senior Art Show! And to answer your question about painting everyday – no, I don’t. I try to do something creative everyday – maybe it is just sketching and sometimes it is painting but I try to keep the creative expression flowing.

I am looking forward to sharing with all of you!

SHANE

I am friends with you for so many reasons but what I will say is that you are my dearest and most wonderful best friend that I have ever had!

Right away, I associate you with a passion for life, movies, photography, constant learning, enthusiasm, a love of music and an unending well of love for me.

Something I like about you would be your hugs!

A memory I have of you would be seeing you stand up and talk for the first time in our Friendship and Dating Class over Winter-term my Freshman year. I was so drawn to you at that moment, you were so articulate and interesting to me.

I want to know, on a scale of 1-10, how much do you hate that I am a vegetarian?

LAURA

I am friends with you because you were such a good HP to me my freshmen year of college! I was really home sick and having a hard time finding my place on the hall and you offered me a great friendship! I will never forget that!

I associate you with music – your gifts in both singing and playing instruments – and now how you are bringing music into the lives of young children and families in your business.

Something I like about you is the way you parent R. I think you are a fantastic mom and you have made choices to free up your time for him, to teach him, to be with him and expose him to great things and he is the coolest little boy for it.

Two of my memories would be from college. I remember thinking your Dad was a catholic priest and yelling LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORA across campus whenever I would see you! So funny!

I want to know what profession you would do if you couldn’t have music involved.

JEN

I am friends with you because you have a very accepting and peaceful spirit about you. You have a calming effect on me and I really appreciate that.

I associate you with knitting beautiful items and always being willing to share yourself with others.

I really admire the transformation you have gone through. Not only in the weight loss but with the internal confidence you have found and your determination to meet your goals. You are inspiring me to look at this in a new way.

A memory I have of you would be my favorite one so far. It isn’t very old but it moved me the most. I loved the evening that we watched Katie you came to pick her up and you gave me this great scarf you had knit. I was so shocked and moved. I LOVE that scarf…I love scarves in general and it was so thoughtful of you to make one for me. I think of your kindness every time I put it on.

One thing I would like to know about you is what was your first date with Ben like?

JAKE

I am friends with you way beyond reasons of family. I have always wanted a brother – I used to ask my parents to give me a big brother but that wasn’t going to happen…until you. You may be younger in age but you are the coolest big brother to me. What I mean by that is you have a great and wonderful loyalty to others and you are someone who makes those you love feel protected and supported. Not to mention you can make me laugh so hard!

I associate you with strong sensitivity, humor for life, music and photography. You are a fantastic cook, you are brave about trying new things and you are very creative.

I like so many things about you but lately, I have really enjoyed watching you in the role of Dad. You have a beautiful daughter and you are a great father. It is so cool to watch you with her – it makes me smile from the inside out.

A memory I have of you would involve the number 21. On Shane’s 21st Birthday you made me laugh harder then ever singing Happy Birthday to him in about 19 different languages. The other would be on your 21st Birthday – again you made me laugh so hard that night – either from the top of a table or from the floor of my bathroom.

I have always wanted to know what your true dream in your heart is. What are you the most passionate about?

JACKIE

I have been friends with you since back in the day of Guthrie Grove Camps! Through College and now as adults, I have always enjoyed your company! You greet me with wonderful smiles and hugs. You are a wonderful person to talk to – you really listen to people and what they are going through. It feels good to be around you!

I associate you with fun short hair cuts all your life, the color pink and the song “She’s In Love With The Boy”. You are the coolest stocker I know!

A memory I have of you would be your wedding day. I am sure that you were the happiest bride I have ever seen and I will never forget that look on your face to be marrying the man of your dreams.

I want to know if you ever get homesick for Iowa like I do – well, more for family and less for the actual state.
STEVE 

I am friends with you because you were Eric’s friend at church and God knows I had a huge crush on him when I was little. When my Dad finished being pastor we moved back to CBC and you became such a good friend to me – like a brother. I have known you for about 20 years!

I associate you with a calmness and control. You have both of those qualities in every area of you life and I admire you for it. You are someone I think always does the right thing.

I like what a great family man you are with L and R. You have really put a lot into making this amazing unit. You provide for them in a great way, you spend time together traveling and being outdoors.

I remember lots of things from being kids together – times at Guthrie would alway be there. I remember playing the flute with you at church (argh!) I remember skipping conference at church and hiding in the tunnel under neath the choir loft, I remember our trip to Worlds of Fun.

I want to know what your dream job is. I know you love photography but I’m not sure if you wanted to do it as a living so…what is your dream job?

8 Responses to “What I Know Today…what I like about my readers.”

  1. I want to do this, but I’m not sure I want to put it on my blog!

  2. GREAT…now I have to do it! Look for my response later.

  3. I’m going to make S get on and comment too. I can’t wait to hear a memory of him : )

  4. My turn! We had a great time last night! Who won? Was it you again?

  5. Uh, oh! What’s she gonna say about little/big bro?!?

  6. Alli- I love this!

  7. […] interesting concept that I thought it would be fun. I first saw it on Rachel’s blog and then Alli did it and put her responses to comment on there, so I figured I would return the favor and answer her […]

  8. My turn!

Leave a Reply

