What I Know Today 1.20.08

• I know that I am equal parts exhausted and proud. We had two days of Dance Competition this past weekend and our girls did an amazing job. The Sunday after is always a tough one for me – I am physically and mentally empty and yet my spirit must be like one of a proud Mom once she has seen her own child reach and accomplish their goals and dreams. No, things weren’t perfect and we didn’t sweep everything but that isn’t what it is about. We did our best. And Friday evening, after our seven soloist performed and our four duets performed – we didn’t need a score sheet back from the judges to hug them and express our happiness with each individual girl as she came off the floor. They did fantastic! That continued all day Saturday with ensembles and team dances. Each time the went out – they hit their routines! They were awesome in my eyes and that is all you could ask for – the opportunity for the girls to do their best in that one moment after months of preparation.

And although the deeper satisfaction of doing your best is what we try to teach them – the awards we an icing on the cake for all of us. Below is a list of what we went home with:

Sweepstakes Award Trophy – Awarded to teams with averages between 85 and 100 on their team routines. Teams scoring a 90 or above from all judges on three of their team routines will be eligible for the Shining Star Award of Excellence.

Shining Star Award of Excellence Trophy– Awarded to teams entering a minimum of three team routines, and receiving a 90 or above from all judges.

We received a judges choice SHOWMANSHIP TROPHY for our HIP HOP Routine.

We received a judges choice PRECISION AND EXECUTION TROPHY for our POM Routine.

We also had special honors for the following individual routines or ensembles:

Officer Award of Excellence Trophy – for their Officer Routine to “Apologize”

One of the Top Duet Award Medals went to the duet routine to “Right Now”

Another one of the Top Duet Award Medals went to the duet routine to “Body Language”

A Top Small Ensemble Award Medal went to our trio routine to “You Make Me Feel Good”

One of the Top Medium Ensemble Award Medals went to our Advanced Jazz routine to “Workin’ Day and Night”

It was our first time at this particular competition and we feel really good about the outcome. Next weekend, we head to another one. It is a huge one and we are even more excited now. Some of the nerves were released, some of the fears were danced out and hopefully we can go into this Friday with a prepared and confident feeling to do nothing more then our best. Isn’t that what we all wish for in our life – the chance to do our best.

In honor of my time and efforts spent with the wonderful young ladies on my team, I leave you with this quote. The 15 girls on my team teach me everyday. Thank you for helping me live a full life as I pass my torch onto you.

” I am of the opinion that my life belongs to the whole community and as long as I live it is my privilege to do for it whatever I can. I want to be thoroughly used up when I die, for the harder I work the more I live. I rejoice in life for its own sake. Life is no “brief candle” to me. It is a sort of splendid torch that I have got hold of for the moment, and I want to make it burn as brightly as possible before handing it on to future generations.”
George Bernard Shaw

7 Responses to “What I Know Today 1.20.08”

  1. The girls did amazing! I’m very proud of you and Ash and all the work you’ve done with them this year!

  2. WOW! Congratulations! I hope you are relaxing tonight, maybe catching up on some DVR’d shows that you missed in preparation for the big weekend. You must be so proud and I’m sure your girls are too!

  3. kindermusikwithlaurab Says:

    Way to go ladies! I know how hard you and Ash work and how much you do for these girls. Rest up for this weekend!

  4. Double WOW!!

  5. Thanks every one for your supportive comments! I appreciate it! Wish us luck again for this weekend – we go to Kansas Spectacular at Olathe East!

  6. I so enjoy your blogging and seeing all the awards the team/individuals were given. What a blessing it is for these girls that you and Ashley give so much of your time and your heart. Congrats!

  7. if i post a comment, will you write something new on your blog?

Leave a Reply

