What I Know Today…the first post of 2008

• I know that I had an amazing Holiday – Christmas and New Years! I am so blessed. I have great family, those that are also my dearest friends. It was a really good melding of family time this year. I don’t like living three hours from my parents during holidays but we had such a nice visit up there with them, I just wish I could see them more often. We spent the weekend leading up to Christmas in Iowa. We also celebrated Shane’s B-day there. Christmas morning we drove back to KC to spend the day with Shane’s family. A couple of fun days between, celebrating Shane’s B-day again, then yet again and before we knew it, it was New Years Eve. We had a great night at Jake, Kelly and Ireland’s house ringing in 2008. The entire holiday season was delightful!

• I also know that along with a new year there is the temptation to make improvements or changes. I am not a big one on “resolutions” but I am going to continue with the monthly fasts that we did as a family in December. Last month I gave up M&Ms and soda. It was hard, but we were able to have it again at Christmas. I am going to implement that into each month of 2008, adding onto the last months items and then having a break on the 25th of each month. I will be having Christmas 11 more times this year then all of you! Trust me, that is what having soda after weeks feels like!  So for January, I am fasting from December’s M&Ms and soda, and adding no more creamer in my coffee (milk only) and cutting Chipotle back to once a week. It doesn’t sound big to some – but it is HUGE!  My point of these monthly fasts are to focus on what I can have and to retrain my brain to not expect “treats” everyday – some of this stuff should be limited. I should actually try the word “moderation”.

A new year, fresh starts and creative dreams brimming. Here is a quote to start off your new year and my first post of many of what I know…

“This is the beginning of a new day. You have been given this day to use as you will. You can waste it or use it for good. What you do today is important because you are exchanging a day of your life for it. When tomorrow comes, this day will be gone forever; in its place is something that you have left behind…let it be something good. “

2 Responses to “What I Know Today…the first post of 2008”

  1. As much as I hate the fasts, I have to say they are working…at least I hope they do.

  2. Just make sure you warm your milk first so it doesn’t make your coffee cold!

Leave a Reply

