Thankful for today…

• I SO am thankful that Shane is home from Atlanta. I know it was only 2 days but I hated it.

• I have developed a love of oatmeal – real oatmeal, steel cut – the kind that takes 30 minutes to make on the stove. I look forward to waking up and having a warm bowl of delicious for breakfast.

• I am in love with the “Sharpie Tattoo”. I haven’t committed to a tattoo that I would put on my body yet, but I have had a large star “sharpied” into my skin for the past couple of weeks. We’ll see if it ever becomes permanent.

• I am thankful that my memories of our trip this past summer are still so vibrant that I turned to Shane durring church and said “Do you want to move to Italy?” Words can’t explain what those three weeks did for me.

• I am really enjoying (too much so) peanut butter M&Ms. I go through this about two times a year where my body craves peanut butter and I am in one right now – peanut butter on apples, peanut butter on toast. But don’t worry Jake, I haven’t bought a box of Nutty Bars since you moved out!

• I am thankful for the afternoon of Chiefs football, warm fuzzy blankets and candles. Sunday afternoons go way too fast.

• I am happy to have been invited to join the book club this month. We are going to read “Marley and Me”. It is about a dog, I know I am going to cry.

• I am so thankful for the extra hour of sleep we got today – even more so since we had an 8:00am church meeting.

Today, I would wish for you the ability to see the positive over all the negative that happens. I know that is hard – negative can creep in very quietly and grow and grow in a silent and harmful way. But there really is too much good out there to be seen, felt and lived. Find that which makes you happy and what drives you into your best self. As my Dad wrote in his last email;

“May each of your quests be a daily journey of new discovery and transformation.”

3 Responses to “Thankful for today…”

  1. Man, do I ever love you. You are just the most wonderfully talented and beautiful person, inside and out.

  2. you forgot your favorite….peanut butter pretzels or were they chocolate covered?

  3. I LOVE Nutty Bars, and Peanut Butter M&M’s. It’s seriously a problem. Marley and Me is my all time favorite book, you will love it. I’ve read it about 8 times. And yes, you will cry.

Leave a Reply

