November 9 I am thankful for…

lentils! Who knew I liked lentils? I didn’t! But let me tell you how excited I am now! Being a very picky vegetarian, this is great news! I was trying to kill an hour while my new glasses were being made at LensCrafters, so I headed across the street to Wild Oats Market. I walked around and read labels and stuff. Then I headed to the deli area. In the case they had this lentil salad consisting of lentils (obviously) yellow, green and red peppers, green onions, olive oil, garlic and roasted tomatoes.  I kept walking by it, finding myself curious about it. So I asked the lady if I could try it. She gave me a plastic cup full and…I LOVED IT! It was really delicious – and to top it off healthy! Lentils are an amazing food! Apart from a high level of proteins, lentils also contain dietary fiber, vitamin B1, and minerals. Red (or pink) lentils contain a lower concentration of fiber than green lentils (11% rather than 31%).

Lentils, raw
Nutritional value per 100 g
Energy 350 kcal   1480 kJ
Carbohydrates        60 g
– Sugars  2 g
– Dietary fiber  31 g
Fat    1 g
Protein    26 g
Thiamin (Vit. B1)  0.87 mg      67%
Iron  7.5 mg    60%

Read more about it here. I am thrilled to have a new item to add to my diet. I am always trying to find ways to get protein. I know eating healthier is more expensive but I may just make that trip over to Wild Oats and buy that lentil salad more often It was delicious! Anyone have any good lentil recipes for me?

2 Responses to “November 9 I am thankful for…”

  1. I love, love, love Progresso Lentil soup. Even though I am not a vegetarian anymore, I eat at least a can of that soup every week.

  2. A good easy recipe that we have sometimes is rice and lentils. I don’t know exact measurements because I just kind of guess, but here is what I do. I take maybe about a cup of dry lentils and boil them for about 20 minutes or so then use my Walmart rice cooker and do a 2:1 ratio of rice and lentils with the total amount good for a recipe of rice. If you don’t have a rice cooker, just boil some lentils and rice together til they are both soft. Then I add some sauteed onion, black pepper, and cinnamon. My Lebanese friend told me about this and it is really very good.

Leave a Reply

