Movie Review: The Departed

This was a movie I was excited to see from the first trailer of it. With a stacked cast of Leonardo DiCaprio, Matt Damon, Mark Wahlberg, Martin Sheen, Alec Baldwin and the fantastic Jack Nicholson (I love his acting!) how could you go wrong? All these talented men had to be drawn to something to sign up for this movie together. Some may say it is director Martin Scorsese. It has been obvious that after three films together he may have found his muse in DiCaprio – or vice versa. Either way, they make a powerful team, they all do it this mob, crime thriller. I don’t enjoying a lot of violence in film, I don’t need to see the backs of the head’s flying off from bullets but it is hard to over look the amazing acting given by all these actors. It is perfectly executed in that book for me. I thought some career bests were given in that 2 and 1/2 hours. If you can stomach the bullets, it is a good crime thriller. One I probably won’t buy on DVD but would go see again with friends or family if they wanted to see it.

2 Responses to “Movie Review: The Departed”

  1. This was a really brutal, amazing film. I guess it was actually an adaptation of a Hong Kong film called Infernal Affairs. I’d like to see if I can find a dubbed version of that movie to compare this one with.

    There WERE an amazing number of headshots in the movie. Very graphic. I think they had to pull a scene where Jack Nicholson is gettin’ down with a couple of women on a buffet of cocaine because it just would have pushed the movie into the too-much category. Scorcese knows how to go over the top.

  2. we saw flags of our fathers last night. fifty stars – one for every state

Leave a Reply

