Movie Review: Talladega Nights – The Ballad of Ricky Bobby

This movie is terrible.

I know that I may be the only person in the world who doesn’t think Will Ferrell is funny but I hold strong in my conviction on this one…see this movie, you may join me.

4 Responses to “Movie Review: Talladega Nights – The Ballad of Ricky Bobby”

  1. I don’t agree with you, necessarily. Will Ferrell was hilarious when he was on Saturday Night Live and he has made his turns in funny movies in supporting roles. I don’t know if he can carry a movie though. Anchorman is a perfect example of that…he is probably one of the least funny parts of that movie (although his performance gets funnier the more you watch it).

    But right now, I’ll take Steve Carrell over Will Ferrell every day of the week.

  2. Will Ferrell has never been “hilarious” in my book. He has had funny moments (Elf) but I agree that he can’t carry a movie. I don’t even think his supporting roles like Zoolander and Wedding Crashers are very funny. I think with “hilarious” comedians like Robin Williams, Bill Murray, Steve Martin and even Jim Carrey – Will Ferrell can’t even hold a candle to these actors.

  3. You know, I was really disappointed in Talledega Nights too. The character for Will Ferrell was just too unbelievable for him. I mean, yeah, Tom Cruise wasn’t very believable as a NASCAR driver in Days of Thunder and “TN” was a total send up of that movie and the NASCAR Dad culture, but it just didn’t work for me.

    Anchorman was the standard I was judging TN against. That movie had a great supporting cast and I totally believed WF was Ron Burgundy. This movie had a terrible supporting cast. I even hated the guy who played the gay french F1 driver. And what was up with Andy Richter’s cameo?

    Pure cinematic garbage.

  4. Haven’t seen this one but I think I might end up ageeing with you. I loved him on SNL. He was hilarious as George W., the cheerleader, and as Alex trebeck. However, I haven’t been thrilled with his big screen performances. Elf was OK but is part in wedding crashers was one of my least favorite parts of an otherwise stellar flick. I’ll hold judgement till I see it.

Leave a Reply

