Father’s Day

The actual day came and went without a post – but that is because I got to spend the day with my dad. I know this post won't even come close to expressing my admiration for my dad. I often times find words hard to come by when trying to tell him how incredible I think he is. Mostly because I fear I will burst out into tears. I do that a lot when it comes to family. Happy tears, the kind you hear people say "My heart is so full of love" that is how I feel about my dad. I have written him cards and found myself crying, I have talked about him to friends and been choked up. I even stayed perfectly quiet in the back of the church right before he walked me down the isle – knowing that if I opened my mouth to tell him how much I loved him and that I would always be his little girl – I would turn into sobbing mess unable to walk. So I stood still, he stood still. Alone in the quiet, I think we both knew. I told him a few years later. I still cried like a baby then. I really do love my dad that much.

Dad, I could try, but this post could never hold all the wonderful qualities I admire in you. I could never say what your weekly cards and daily prayers mean in my life. I will never be able to convey what your faith, strength, courage and work ethic have implimented in my life. I wish I still didn't feel like the girl in the back of the church, all choked up and unable to say what she feels. I hope you take that as a sign of a daughter who worships her Dad.

Happy Father's Day.

alli-tom.jpg

4 Responses to “Father’s Day”

  1. Gulp. Sniffle sniffle…..

  2. There sure is something special about always knowing you are daddy’s little girl.

  3. I have always thought that the relationship between you and your dad was very special…it is something that is really neat to watch as you interact.

Leave a Reply

