Thank God For Artificial Smells

Don't let the title fool you. I like (the majority of) things to be natural. I have really enjoyed the open windows in the house, letting in fresh air these past few weeks. I relish in the natural light during the day and refuse to turn on a light in the house. Up until last week, I was really enjoying the fresh flowers my sister had gotten me. What great colors and a fantastic smell. They died all too quickly.

I like clean things. I want my house to be clean. And it is, 95% of the time. With Dreyfuss in our family, I am acutely aware of smell. Shane would tell you I always have been. I am obsessive about things smelling good – if nothing else – things shouldn't smell bad. From the start, I didn't want to be "The lady with the dog" – you all know what I mean. You meet some one, shake their hand, breath in and right away you say to yourself "Whoa, that lady has dogs!" The smell permeates clothing, hair, furniture etc. I refuse to be that lady.

It remains a challenge though. We have two rooms in our house that Dreyfuss spends the most time in; our movie room downstairs and our bedroom. He is a snuggler – and I really do love that about him. For a 95 pound dog, he is a big baby that just wants to curl up between us while we watch a movie or at night when we go to sleep. Here in lies the problem. This big dog leaves a big smell when he unfolds his hot body and gets up from the spot he has just napped in for 2 hours. Leaving me conviced that everything we own must stink. I am constantly washing the "blanket" that we lay on top of our comforter as to not ruin it. (I never thought I would be that lady either! I want things that look nice – throw function out the window! I want a great looking comforter! But what is the point!) So anyway, I wash that blanket. I febreze the crap out of everything. I keep up on the vacuuming and the dusting and try my hardest but I am still sure that there is a trace of dog smell.

So off to Bath and Body Works we go.

We bit the bullet. We bought the over-priced air plug-in…three of them. One for the movie room, one for the living room and one for our bedroom. I must say – what a difference it makes! Our movie room takes me back to my childhood. It smells like the Strawberry Shortcake doll "Blueberry Muffin" – remember her? She was Strawberry's friend, blue hair, oh she smelled good! Our movie room now smells like that – I love it! It isn't too strong. It is just a hint of freshness…Aghhhhh!

I think I will return to Bath and Body Works when they wear off for the refills. It just makes the day better. This way I have the best of both worlds. I get to have an awesome dog AND keep my house smelling fresh!

3 Responses to “Thank God For Artificial Smells”

  1. Gotta agree with you…the new air fresheners are AWESOME.

  2. If you like those, you should look at the candle warmers they have there. They are made for the jar candles. Just take the sticker off the bottom and the cap off the top, put the jar on the warmer and it will melt the wax without the fear of open flames. It’s great with a toddler! We have the sweet honeysuckle scent and it is like a fresh boquet all the time.

  3. I feel the same way about my house – with an 85 lb. Doberman Pinscher, I am constantly paranoid that I am one of those people who smell like a zoo and that my house might smell even worse! I ask my best friend each and every time she comes over, “Does it smell like dog in here?” But you know what? I love our Pup so much, he can be as smelly as he wants! 🙂

Leave a Reply

