Movie Review: In Her Shoes

Jake and Sidna invited us over Sat. night to watch their most recent Netflix arrival. I had been wanting to watch this movie. I knew it hadn’t been on the top of Shane’s list so we hadn’t seemed to get around to it yet. I am really glad we saw it though. It starts out a bit rough but if you stick with it, I found it to be good. It is very character driven, full of relationships of all kinds and significants. The importance of family, the way you love family and how family can cut you the deepest. It is some of the best acting I have seen Cameron Diaz do – I thought she was fantastic in this role. She was believable beginning to end. Toni Collete and Shirley MacLaine. were great as usual. It was a great film for women’s roles. It isn’t a “chick flick” like some may assume due to the three female leads. It is a movie both genders could enjoy. You will love and hate these women. You may laugh and cry with them too. It really runs you through the life of two sisters and a Grandmother they never knew they had and why. I enjoyed it. If you rent it – stick it out. It gets better.

2 Responses to “Movie Review: In Her Shoes”

  1. I read the book “In Her Shoes” by Jennifer Weiner and I liked it a lot. I saw the movie and thought it was ok. You know how it is when you read the book first…the book is always better. I also experienced the same thing with “Memoirs of a Geisha”. I LOVED the book and just thought to movie was so-so. I think my imagination comes up with better visuals than the movies do!

  2. we’re going to rent this one – and inside man some day.

    I’ve been meaning to ask, how is June’s birthday gift coming along.? (I don’t think there is any danger of her reading anyones blog)

Leave a Reply

