Book Review: The Da Vinci Code

Yes, yes, I finally read the book that everyone and their mother has read. I must admit that even though I really enjoyed Angels and Demons, the movie version of the book looming in May is what fueled my motivation to get this read early. I can’t stand seeing the movie first. I know I won’t read the book if I do. Often times the movies can’t live up to the book, so at least you have your memories of reading the story to stay with you even if the movie is terrible (The Firm for example). I also never pictured Tom Hanks as Robert Langdon when I was reading Angels and Demons. I had to finish with George Clooney in my head before Hanks took over. My casting is much better.

I don’t know if it is because I read Angels and Demons first, or if it is becasue I heard others say they liked A&D better but I too found myself enjoying A&D more. I really liked the first portion of Da Vinci Code as it dealt with a lot of art, but then that fizzled a little for me and I felt like we were left with a lot of repeating. I really like the book, for the same reasons I liked A&D. Dan Brown has a way of telling an entertaining story in a short amount of time all the while making you feel you have been exposed to great secrets of the universe about art, religion and historical figures. You feel transported to grand locations and thrilled with anticipation about the next hidden meaning to this or that. It is a fast paced read and I am glad I read them in order. Not because they need to be read that way to make sense but because they seem to fit that way for me. Langdon seems a bit older, a little more tired in this book.

Without giving anything away, I really did like this book and I am glad it ended the way it did. It has caused me think about religion in a historic sense and I would like to read more about the topics it covered. I am also looking forward to seeing the film. I hope it is done well and if it is I would love to see them do Angels and Demons, I actually think that will make a better movie. I am so glad to have it finished. I liked Dan Brown but I am looking forward to reading some different types of books in the future months.

2 Responses to “Book Review: The Da Vinci Code”

  1. I’m glad that you finished it! Are you starting on The Wedding now?

  2. woah! I take off my hat to you and all the millions of others who have read the da vinci code. I picked it up in a bookshop thinking, well, I should read this book – but then I read the first paragraph… his style is like fingernails scraping down a blackboard. painful. I’m looking forward to seeing the film. Same thing happened with Harry Potter. I’m a book snob, I can’t help it! I’m also looking forward to the trial, as I’m sure the bookshops are too, nothing like a good scandal to get the sales up…

Leave a Reply

