They’re Here!

The Oscar nominations are out! YES! I love award show season! I love all the shows leading up to the grand-daddy of them all. Shane and I are hosting a young adult evening for the big event…come early…the Red Carpet will be on! Let’s discuss some of the nominees;

Best Actor

No surprise with the 5 in this category (if you have been watching the other award shows)

Philip Seymour Hoffman, Heath Ledger, Joaquin Phoenix, David Strathairn and Terrence Howard (who was probably the biggest surprise if there is one) PSH is sweeping the awards for Capote. I haven’t seen it (and I don’t really want to) but I think he is a fantastic actor and would be happy if he won. But I also thought Joaquin Phoenix and Heath Ledger were great and deserve their nomination.
My pick to win: Philip Seymour Hoffman

Who they missed: Russell Crowe – Cinderella Man (so what if he threw a phone!)

Best Actress

Again in this category, not many surprises…but one: Keira Knightley. Sure she was up for a Golden Globe but they are so much more liberal in their nominations. Judi Dench, Felicity Huffman, Charlize Theron and Reese Witherspoon finish out the five. Like PHS in the actor category, Reese has been sweeping the awards. She was even awarded the SAG by her fellow actors. Charlize was great in North Country and I am glad she is nominated but she isn’t my front runner. Like her or not, Reese was June Carter! She was excellent!
My pick to win: Reese Witherspoon

Who they missed: Gwyneth Paltrow – Proof (She was amazing!)

Best Supporting Actor

I am pretty excited about this category! Seeing 4 of the 5 men in their movies, I feel they really deserve their nomination. I haven’t seen A History of Violence (and have heard I wouldn’t want to) but William Hurt is up along side 4 great performances by George Clooney, Matt Dillion, Paul Giamatti and Jake Gyllenhaal. This is a tough one for me and I can’t base it off which movie I liked the best but which performance was the best. That being said, Paul Giamatti was perfect in Cinderella Man, Matt Dillion was great in Crash, but I have to go with the Jake’s performance. I am really glad he is up, a lot of the buzz was around Heath in this movie but I though Jake had such a raw, gripping performance.
My pick to win: Jake Gyllenhaal

Who they missed: Terrence Howard – Crash

Best Supporting Actress

Sad to say I have only seen 2 of the 5 in this category. But I have plans to rent The Constant Gardener before the Oscars. Rachel Weisz has been taking home the statues from all the other award shows. She is a great actress. Along with her we have Amy Adams, Catherine Keener, Frances McDormand, and Michelle Williams. I can only comment on the two I have seen but out of those two Frances McDormand wins hands down. She was so good in North Country. I think she deserves it but won’t win it. Honestly, I don’t see the big deal with Michelle Williams performance, I am not saying she was bad but was she Oscar material?
My pick to win: Rachel Weisz

Who they missed: Renee’ Zellweger – Cinderella Man

Best Picture

I am so excited! I saw Crash early this year and thought it was one of the most creative, thought provoking movie I have ever seen. It really made me reflect on my life. It was being shut out of the other award shows and Shane and I were really disappointed. But all is right with the world this morning! Crash is up for best picture! I haven’t seen Capote or Good Night, and Good Luck (although I want to see that one) but I have seen Brokeback Mountain and Munich. I just can’t compare them to Crash though. I believe everyone should see Crash.
My pick to win: Crash

Who they missed: I am so pleased Crash is up I will just be happy with that.

As for the rest of the nominees please visit the offical site. I am really looking forward to the show! I have some movies to see still. Shane and I try to see all the Best Picture nominees each year…we’ll see if we can get that done. Let me know your picks for this year!

2 Responses to “They’re Here!”

  1. […] Alli’s review over at The Shane Fan Club is much better. […]

  2. rtryurhs5 Says:

    Here are some links that I believe will be interested

Leave a Reply

